Hosting proposals received for Pool Matches

(RNZ 2011) Friday 31 October 2008
Hosting proposals received for Pool Matches
Rugby New Zealand 2011 CEO Martin Snedden (left) receives the Hawke’s Bay regional hosting proposal from Napier Mayor Barbara Arnott and Hastings Mayor Lawrence Yule, at the RNZ 2011 offices in Wellington on Friday (31 October).

Regional groups representing 18 different regions across New Zealand have lodged proposals to host Pool Matches or visiting teams during Rugby World Cup (RWC) 2011.

Rugby New Zealand (RNZ) 2011 Ltd CEO Martin Snedden said the lodging of hosting proposals for the 40 Pool Matches and for Team Bases during the Tournament was an exciting step for all of the regions which have been involved in the match and team allocation process.

"We have been working closely with regions throughout New Zealand and, practically without exception, every part of the country has been exploring how they can be a part of Rugby World Cup 2011.

"The response has been exceptional and demonstrates how much New Zealand regions want to be involved in this once in a lifetime opportunity. It provides the country with the perfect platform to deliver on our collective vision of a Stadium of Four Million."

Of the 18 regional proposals, 11 have applied to host pool matches, comprising 16 separate match venues, while seven regions have applied to host teams only.

In addition to the 40 pool matches, this process also includes proposals to create team bases for the 20 teams either in the lead-up to the Tournament or between matches.

The regions which applied to host Pool Matches are: Northland, Auckland, Hamilton,
Bay of Plenty, Hawke's Bay, Taranaki, Manawatu, Wellington, Nelson Tasman Region, Christchurch and the Southern Region (Otago/Southland). Auckland and the Southern Region's proposals contain three venues while the Bay of Plenty's proposal includes two venues.

All of these regions have also included applications to host teams as part of their proposals.

Those regions which have applied to host teams only are: Marlborough, Tairawhiti (Poverty Bay/East Coast), Taupo, Aoraki Region (Timaru), Ashburton, West Coast, and Wanganui.

"This has been a major undertaking for all concerned so we are extremely grateful for all the work that the participating regions, cities and towns have done to get the process to this stage.

"Based on an initial look at the proposals, they are of exceptionally high quality and reflect the unity, passion and support of the participating regional groups.

"The cooperation within regional communities has been unprecedented. Local authorities, tourism and regional business organisations as well as provincial rugby unions and major sporting facilities in each region deserve to be congratulated for the level of coordination," said Mr Snedden

A link with Rugby World Cup history

Among those present in Wellington today for the presentation of the Bay of Plenty regional hosting proposal was former NZRU Councillor and former BOP Rugby Union Chairman, Dick Littlejohn, who was one of the key people in conceiving and delivering the first Rugby World Cup in 1987. Mr Littlejohn joined a delegation of civic and Bay of Plenty iwi representatives who travelled to Wellington to deliver the proposal.

Mr Snedden said the presence of Mr Littlejohn at the RNZ 2011 offices represented a wonderful link with New Zealand's role in founding Rugby World Cup and hosting, so successfully, the very first Tournament.

Evaluation Criteria

When evaluating the various proposals and the match and team base allocations, RNZ 2011 will assess these using a set of criteria aligned to RNZ 2011's four key strategic goals, these being:

1. Delivering an operationally excellent tournament
2. Achieving capacity crowds and achieving the budgeted financial result or better
3. Inspiring a nationwide Rugby World Cup festival
4. Creating enduring benefits.

Pool and team allocations

Rugby World Cup Limited will announce the make-up of the four pools for RWC 2011 following the Pool Allocation Draw which will take place in the giant New Zealand Ball in London on December 1. The draw will be based on the rankings of the 12 pre-qualified teams as at November 30 and will allocate all of the teams and the qualification places to pools.

Decisions on match venues as well as the match schedule are expected to be announced in March or April 2009 following a recommendation by the Board of RNZ 2011 to Rugby World Cup Limited. Team bases will be announced in late 2009.

Click here to down load this Media Release.