ESPN STAR Sports awarded RWC Asia rights

(RUGBY WORLD CUP) Wednesday 17 August 2011
ESPN STAR Sports awarded RWC Asia rights
Asia's number one side Japan heads to RWC 2011 as Pacific Nations Cup champions

Rugby World Cup Limited (RWCL) has announced the appointment of ESPN STAR Sports as broadcast rights holders for Rugby World Cup 2011 to be held in New Zealand.

Under the deal, ESPN STAR Sports will broadcast all 48 matches live across 13 territories in Asia, ensuring that sports fans will see every try, tackle and pass of Rugby's premier event.

Live TV coverage on ESPN STAR Sports’ networks will be supplemented with dedicated streaming and video on demand through ESPN Player and MobileESPN in Singapore and weekly highlights programming in several territories.

Rugby participation in Asia has grown by 18% since Rugby World Cup 2007 in France and the announcement further underlines ESPN STAR Sports’ commitment to bring the very best Rugby action to sports fans in Asia.

RWCL Managing Director Mike Miller said: “Asia is a major growth region for Rugby and the IRB is committed to ensuring that sports fans across the Region are able to experience our showcase event."

“ESPN STAR Sports is recognised as Asia’s leading sports broadcaster and through extensive Rugby World Cup 2011 programming, it will deliver the platform for Rugby to engage new fans across the Region.”

ESPN STAR Sports Managing Director, Manu Sawhney, said: “We are delighted to bring the third largest sporting event in the world to Rugby fans across Asia. We have a proud history of Rugby programming and have screened every RWC tournament since 1999, which underscores our commitment to bring the best in worldwide sports to our viewers in Asia.”

The deal will see ESPN STAR Sports broadcast all the action in Singapore, China, Indonesia, Thailand, Cambodia, Korea, Laos, Macau, Mongolia, Myanmar, Papua New Guinea, Philippines and Vietnam.

Rugby World Cup 2011 kicks off on September 9 with hosts New Zealand against Tonga at Eden Park. The final will be played on October 23.