Gill to captain Australia at JWC 2012

(IRB.COM) Wednesday 2 May 2012
Gill to captain Australia at JWC 2012
Liam Gill was part of the Australia U20 squad at JWC 2010

Australia Under 20 coaches Anthony Eddy and David Nucifora have named their 28-man squad for the IRB Junior World Championship being held in South Africa in June. 

Liam Gill has been selected as captain and the squad comprises three players who played in last year's edition, as well as several players from Super Rugby and with Australia Sevens experience.

Over the past few months Eddy and Nucifora have held two selection camps and watched players closely in their respective club environments before settling on their 28-man squad.
“The squad we’ve been able to select is a good mix and we are fortunate to be taking some players to South Africa that have experienced the elite environments of international and professional rugby,” said Nucifora.
“Having this kind of experience in the group will go a long way in helping the entire squad prepare for the intensity of the Junior World Championship.”

Captain Gill is one of five players in the squad from Super Rugby, alongside Chris Sautia, Nick Frisby, Ulupano Seuteni and Kyle Godwin.

Sevens experience

Sean McMahon, Matt Lucas, Allan Faalavaau and Con Foley were all members of the Australia Sevens squad who won the recent Tokyo Sevens, and alongside Lewis Holland will join up with the Under 20 squad after the final two legs on the Sevens World Series in Glasgow and London.

Lucas is one of three players having played at the JWC in Italy, Apolosi Latunipulu and Hugh Roach the other two to have played last year, whilst Gill is the only player to have played at the JWC in Argentina in 2010. 

Lindsay Crook is another player in the squad with Sevens experience having been part of the squad that competed in the Gold Coast and Dubai Sevens in November. 

Australia are in Pool C, alongside Scotland, Argentina and France. In 2011 Australia finished third after beating 30-17 France in the third place play-off, reversing a defeat to the same side in the pool stages. 

In its history, the Australian Under 20 side has seen the likes of David Pocock, Will Genia, Quade Cooper, Rob Simmons and James Slipper go on to represent the senior side. 

Australia Under 20 squad:

Allan Alaalatoa, Curtis Browning, Lindsay Crook, Steven Cummins, Thomas Cusack, James Dargaville, Allan Faalavaau, Con Foley, Nicholas Frisby, Liam Gill (captain), Kyle Godwin, Malietoa Hingano, Lewis Holland, Jed Holloway, Oliver Hoskins, Sam Jeffries, Silatolu Latu, Apolosi Latunipulu, Matthew Lucas, Leslie Makin, Sean McMahon, Benn Melrose, Maile Ngauamo, Pettowa Paraka, Sam Reiser, Hugh Roach, Christopher Sautia, Ulupano Seuteni.