USA qualify for RWC 2011

(RUGBYWORLDCUP.COM) Sunday 22 November 2009
USA qualify for RWC 2011
USA captain Todd Clever, on his way to one of two tries against Uruguay Photo: Will Ris, USA Rugby

USA have qualified for Rugby World Cup 2011 in New Zealand after recording a 27-6 home win over Uruguay to complete a 54-28 aggregate play-off victory over Los Teros.

USA captain Todd Clever scored two tries at Broward County Regional Park, Lauderhill, Florida to assist his team to a total of eight touchdowns during the two matches.

Uruguay's only points came through two Jerónimo Etcheverry penalties, to add to the 13 points he scored in the first leg.

In front of 2237 spectators, Mike Hercus kicked a penalty for the home side early on, before Lou Stanfill and Kevin Swiryn extended USA's lead with two first-half tries.

Etcheverry kicked penalties either side of half time to bring Uruguay back to 13-6 down, but Clever touched down twice in the second period to leave the final score at 27-6.

Uruguay were not helped when Uruguay prop Mario Sagario was sent off with 25 minutes remaining.

USA will face Australia, Ireland, Italy and a European qualifier in Pool C at RWC 2011, playing matches in New Plymouth, Wellington and Nelson.

Uruguay will have one last chance to qualify through the cross-continental play-off.

Match details

USA 27

Tries: Stanfill, Swiryn, Clever (2)
Conversions: Hercus, Malifa
Penalty kicks: Hercus

1. Mate Moeakiola (Jacob Sprague @ 72 min) 2. Phil Thiel
(Brian McClenahan @ 87 min) 3. Will Johnson 4. John Van der Giessen
5. Hayden Smith (Alec Parker @ 62 min) 6. Louis Stanfill 7. Todd Clever 8. Nic Johnson 9. Tim Usasz (Mike Petri @ 74 min), 10. Mike Hercus (NeseMalifa @78 min), 11. Kevin Swiryn (Patrick Danahy @ 81)
12. Junior Sifa, 13. Paul Emerick (Pate Tuilevuka @ 72 min),
14. Takudzwa Ngwenya, 15. Chris Wyles

Penalty Kicks: Jerónimo Etcheverry (2)

1. Rodrigo Sanchez, 2. Martín Espiga, 3. Mario Sagario, 4. Matías Fonseca, 5. Carlos Protasi, 6. Nicolás Brignioni, 7. Alfredo Giuria, 8. Rodrigo Capo, 9. Juan Campomar, 10. Nicolás Morales, 11. Tomás Jolivet, 12. Juan Llovet, 13. Joaquín Pastore, 14. Alejandro Silveira, 15. Jerónimo Etcheverry, 16. Alejo Corral, 17. Carlos Arboleya, 18. Juan Rombys, 19. Juan Horta, 20. Manuel Martinez, 21. Juan De Freitas, 22. Santiago Gibernau

Referee: David Smortchevsky (Canada)
Assistant Referee 1: Bryan Arciero (Canada)
Assistant Referee 2: Derek Stoltz(Canada)

Attendance: 2237