Meneses makes record nine changes for Australia clash

Uruguay coach reshuffles his squad after Georgia defeat as Los Teros prepare to face Pool D's top two teams.

TOKYO, 3 Oct - Uruguay coach Esteban Meneses has made nine changes to the team that lost to Georgia for Saturday's Pool D match against Australia at Oita Stadium. 

This is the highest number of changes made by Los Teros in between RWC matches. Prior to this selection, Los Teros had never made more than six changes.

Centre Andres Vilaseca will captain his country for the third time. He skippered Uruguay in a 67-15 triumph over Chile on 24 June, 2018 but has only worn the armband once since - against an Argentina XV on 15 June, 2019.

Vilalesca, hooker German Kessler, second-row Manuel Leindekar, full-back Rodrigo Silva, winger Nicolas Freitas and fly-half Felipe Berchesi, above, all retain their places to make a third start at RWC 2019.

Silva, who started the first two matches on the left-wing, switches to full-back for this encounter.

Berchesi - Player of the Match in Los Teros' victory over Fiji - has already established a Los Teros record at a single World Cup with 17 points and will be looking to add to his all-time RWC tally of 32 points in the game against the Wallabies.

There's no place in the 23 for centre Juan Manuel Cat, who scored a crucial try in the defeat of Fiji.


1. Juan Echeverria
2. German Kessler
3. Diego Arbelo
4. Franco Lamanna
5. Manuel Leindekar
6. Manuel Ardao
7. Juan Diego Ormaechea
8. Manuel Diana
9. Agustin Ormaechea
10. Felipe Berchesi
11. Nicolas Freitas
12. Andres Vilaseca (capt.)
13. Tomas Inciarte
14. Federico Favaro
15. Rodrigo Silva

16. Guillermo Pujadas
17. Joaquin Jaunsolo
18. Juan Pedro Rombys
19. Ignacio Dotti
20. Juan Manuel Gaminara
21. Santiago Arata
22. Felipe Etcheverry 
23. Agustin Della Corte

RNS bd/rb/rl