Teams set for Rugby World Cup arrival

Fiji will be the first of the 20 squads to officially land in England ahead of RWC 2015.

With excitement building ahead of Rugby World Cup 2015, World Rugby has confirmed the official in-tournament arrival dates for the 20 participating teams. 

World Rugby Pacific Nations Cup champions Fiji (main picture) have the honour of being the first team to officially arrive in the host nation on 9 September, nine days ahead of the tournament’s opening match against hosts England at Twickenham on 18 September. 

After a brief stint in England for warm-up matches, Tonga travel to Romania to face the Oaks in their final warm-up match before officially returning to England to their base on 10 September. 

The following day will see defending champions New Zealand arrive in London along with Rugby World Cup 2019 hosts Japan and Samoa, who faced the Barbarians at the Stadium, Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, on Saturday. 

With teams allowed to arrive officially up until 16 September, 12 sides will arrive at their training bases in England and Wales between 12-15 September, including Rugby World Cup 1995 and 2007 champions South Africa on September 12 and 1991 and 1999 winners and Rugby Championship victors Australia on 14 September and reigning Six Nations champions Ireland on 15 September. 

Wales, Romania, Scotland and Namibia are the final teams to arrive officially in tournament, taking residence in their respective team bases on 16 September. 

All teams will be officially welcomed into the host nation at special team welcome ceremonies at iconic locations the length and breadth of the nation. Click HERE for the full schedule of welcome ceremonies. 

Arrival dates of competing teams 
9 Sept – Fiji
10 Sept – Tonga
11 Sept – Japan, New Zealand, Samoa
12 Sept – Canada, South Africa
13 Sept – USA, Argentina, Georgia, Uruguay
14 Sept – Australia, England, France, Italy
15 Sept – Ireland
16 Sept – Romania, Scotland, Wales, Namibia