Stuart Lancaster confirms England's midfield shake-up for Pool A match against Wales

Coach submits line-up with Sam Burgess and Owen Farrell in starting XV for crucial clash at Twickenham

BIG BREAK: Sam Burgess replaces injured Jonathan Joseph after impressing against Fiji

LONDON, 24 Sept - England coach Stuart Lancaster has officially announced that Owen Farrell and Sam Burgess will start in the team to play Wales in their Pool A Rugby World Cup 2015 match at Twickenham at 20:00 on Saturday.

Burgess will form a midfield partnership with Brad Barritt, who moves to outside centre in place of the injured Jonathan Joseph.

Owen Farrell starts at fly-half with George Ford moving to the bench while Billy Vunipola comes in at number eight for Ben Morgan, who is still struggling with a knee injury.

James Haskell and Alex Goode are both included in the 23 for the first time at RWC 2015, covering back row and back three respectively.

Lancaster said: “We have a lot of respect for the Wales coaching team and their players, they are a high-quality side and I am sure it will be some occasion on Saturday evening.

“The support at Twickenham last week was incredible with the crowd really getting behind us and we will need them again this week to lift the players against a tough Wales team.”

1. Joe Marler    
2. Tom Youngs        
3. Dan Cole
4. Geoff Parling
5. Courtney Lawes
6. Tom Wood
7. Chris Robshaw (c)
8. Billy Vunipola
9. Ben Youngs
Owen Farrell
11. Jonny May
Sam Burgess
13. Brad Barritt
14. Anthony Watson
15. Mike Brown

16. Rob Webber 
17. Mako Vunipola   
18. Kieran Brookes
19. Joe Launchbury
20. James Haskell 
21. Richard Wigglesworth
George Ford
23. Alex Goode   

RNS sw