Tournament General Information

What is the Rugby World Cup?

Hosted once every four years, the Rugby World Cup is rugby's centrepiece event. It is the big stage that rugby players from all over the world dream of reaching. Held over the course of seven weeks, it is the 3rd largest sports event in the world after the summer olympics and the Football World Cup.

Tournament Dates

20th September (Fri) - 2nd November (Sat), 2019


20 participating teams


Total of 48 matches:

1 Pool stages: 4 pools of 5 teams, 40 pool matches in total.

2 Finals: Quarter finals, semi finals, bronze final, finals :計8試合

Match Venues

12 venues across the whole of Japan

Opening Match

20th September (Fri), 2019 
Tokyo Stadium


2nd November (Sat), 2019
Yokohama Stadium, Kanagawa

The New Logo

The new Rugby World Cup logo is based on the theme of "unity". As a completely new territory for the tournament to be held in, Japan will become one with the players and fans from the leading rugby nations of the world, working towards the common goal of making rugby a truly global sport. Japan and rugby fans from all over the world will share and unite under the spirit of rugby. The host cities across the country are filled with the desire to make the tournament an unforgettable one, and will stand together to welcome and entertain fans from all over the globe. The new RWC logo which integrates the rising sun and Mt. Fuji, with the World Rugby logo, also represents Japan and the world coming together in the name of rugby.