De Haas gets his chance as Eagles eye wounded Pumas

Promising scrum-half makes his first start at RWC 2019 as Gary Gold makes three changes to his starting XV.

TOKYO, 7 Oct - Young scrum-half Ruben de Haas will make his first start for the USA after impressing as a replacement against England and France. 

Twenty-year-old De Haas, who replaces Shaun Davies, is one of three changes USA coach Gary Gold has made to his team for the Pool C match against Argentina in Kumagaya Rugby Stadium on Wednesday, 9 October.

Second-row Greg Peterson and centre Paul Lasike will also start against the Pumas, replacing Nick Civetta and Martin Iosefo respectively. Iosefo drops to the bench with Davies and Civetta out of the matchday 23.

Fly-half AJ MacGinty moved into second place on the all-time USA points scoring list in the Eagles' 33-9 defeat by France. He leapfrogged Matt Alexander (286 points) with his third penalty to chalk up his 287th point, a distant second behind Mike Hercus on 486. 

Captain Blaine Scully is also chasing a Hercus record as he captains USA for the 31st time, passing Dan Lyle into third place but remaining well behind Todd Clever (55) and Hercus (56) in the captaincy stakes.

Centre Bryce Campbell, making his second start of the tournament, is the only USA player to have scored a try at RWC 2019 with an 80th-minute consolation score against England.

Argentina cannot progress to the knockout stage following defeats by France and England. USA are seeking their first win at the Rugby World Cup since a 13-6 victory over Russia in 2011. The Eagles only other RWC wins came against Japan in 1987 and 2003.


1. Eric Fry
2. Joe Taufete’e
3. Titi Lamositele
4. Nate Brakeley
5. Greg Peterson
6. Tony Lamborn
7. Hanco Germishuys
8. Cam Dolan
9. Ruben de Haas
10. AJ MacGinty
11. Marcel Brache
12. Paul Lasike
13. Bryce Campbell
14. Blaine Scully (capt.)
15. Mike Te’o

16. Dylan Fawsitt
17. Olive Kilifi
18. Paul Mullen
19. Ben Landry
20. Ben Pinkelman
21. Nate Augspurger
22. Will Hooley
23. Martin Iosefo

RNS rb/rl