Women’s Rugby World Cup 2017 in Ireland will again feature 12 teams.

The top seven teams from the 2014 tournament in France qualified automatically for Ireland 2017.

  • England
  • Canada
  • France
  • Ireland
  • New Zealand
  • USA
  • Australia

They have since been joined by Italy and Wales, who were the top two ranked sides outside of England, France and Ireland across the 2015 and 2016 Women’s Six Nations.

Rugby Europe Women's Championship winners Spain became the final European qualifiers when they beat Scotland, the side who finished bottom of the Women's Six Nations across those two years, 25-15 on aggregate over two legs in November 2016.

The final two qualifiers were determined at a tournament featuring hosts Hong Kong, Japan and Fiji from 9-17 December. Fiji confirmed their place in this tournament with a 37-10 victory over Papua New Guinea in the Oceania Rugby Women's Championship on 5 November.

Hong Kong and Japan both beat Fiji to guarantee a top-two finish and their places at WRWC 2017. Japan then beat Hong Kong to qualify as Asia/Oceania 1, with their hosts taking the Asia/Oceania 2 spot.